Full details

Weinstein Books logo
logoBG
Join our mailing list
alt tag goes here

FORMAT:

  • ISBN 13: 9781602860582
  • ISBN 10: 1602860580
  • Price: $10.99 / $10.99 CAN
  • Status: Active

Courage

Portraits of Bravery in the Service of Great Causes

By (author) Gordon Brown

In the tradition of John F. Kennedy's Pulitzer Prize-winning Profiles in Courage, Prime Minister Gordon Brown's fascinating collection of inspirational leaders is destined to become a staple of every politically conscious reader's library as his already-significant profile grows exponentially around the world.

The prime minister explores the lives of eight outstanding twentieth-century figures to uncover why some men and women make difficult decisions and do the right thing when easier and far less dangerous alternatives are open to them. Those profiled range from icons such as Martin Luther King, Jr. and Robert F. Kennedy to lesser-known figures such as Edith Cavell, who nursed the wounded of World War I in Belgium and helped Allied soldiers escape, and pastor Dietrich Bonhoeffer, who returned to Nazi Germany from New York to lead the Christian opposition against Hitler's regime. Bringing his personal reflections to these intimate portraits, Brown illuminates a common thread of inspiring courage in every one of these eight heroes and, in doing so, introduces us to his own inspiring values.

Perseus Books
Weinstein Company
A MEMBER OF
facebook
twitter
good reads

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

   

alt tag goes here
Hachette